Boris Johnson has confirmed fully vaccinated travellers will no longer be required to take a Day 2 Test when they return to the UK.

The move has been taken by the government, just in time for families to take advantage of the half-term break, as the Prime Minister suggests Britain has moved through the worst of the Omicron wave.

Announcing the changes to the press on a visit to Milton Keynes hospital, the PM confirmed:

“You will see changes so that people arriving no longer have to take tests if they have been vaccinated, if they have been double vaccinated”

The new relaxed measures, set come in from 4am on 11 February, are set to make travel easier for the fully vaccinated.

The need for pre-departure PCR tests has already been scrapped for vaccinated passengers returning to the UK.

Person holding negative LFT

Boris Johnson confirms Day 2 tests to be scrapped for fully vaccinated travellers

Travel to get easier

Changes to testing requirements mean the prospect of far-flung summer sun is even closer for wantaway Brits this year. Travel Secretary, Grant Shapps, confirmed the changes in front of ministers earlier today saying:

That means that after months of pre-departure testing, post-arrival testing, self-isolation, additional expense, all that fully vaccinated people will now have to do, when they travel to the UK, is to verify their status via a passenger locator form.

The transport secretary also went on to announce changes to un-vaccinated travel rules:

Passengers who do not qualify as fully vaccinated will no longer be required to do a day eight test after arrival, or indeed to self-isolate. They will still need to fill out a passenger locator form to demonstrate proof of a negative Covid test taken two days before they travel and they must still take a post-arrival PCR test.

Travel bosses will be jumping for joy at this latest update, as it heralds a return to more normal holidaying for many. Sun-seekers could now enjoy test-free holiday travel to favourite Caribbean destinations like the Dominican Republic and Mexico.